top of page
Search

Exploring Silversea's Silver Cloud!

In April 2019 I got an email from CLIA (Cruise Line International Association) giving me the opportunity to visit Silversea's Silver Cloud in London on the 4th June. I was in the middle of my final year exams so I couldn't think of anything better to do as a 'present' to myself for finishing university.


The Silver Cloud is one of Silversea's expedition ships, visiting remote areas such as the Galapagos, Arctic and Antarctic in a luxurious setting . The ship itself is carries around 300 guests and is only 16,800 gross tonnes which is far smaller than any ship I've ever been on! Expedition ships are rapidly gaining in popularity so I was intrigued to learn more.


As the day approached I received another email detailing the boarding process and I was astounded to see that 'Tower Bridge' was the site for embarkation. This made me even more excited as I have never been on a ship visit through my blogging, let alone on one docked in the center of London!


After an early start and several trains from my town, I found myself in London. Several tube stops later, I made it to Tower Bridge tube station (which is a miracle in itself) and took a walk along the Thames. Seeing the Silver Cloud docked next to the HMS Belfast, with both Tower Bridge and The Shard acting as equally dramatic backdrops in either direction would certainly be one way to see your ship for the first time!


I have to admit, I was very nervous as I had no idea what to expect! However, I was completely put at ease after I met the Silversea representatives at the Coopa Club. Whilst waiting, I got talking to the Instagram Bloggers Paul and Carol so it was lovely to be able to talk cruise with some fellow bloggers!


Before we knew it, we were taken to Millennium Pier where we boarded a ferry to take us to the ship. Silver Cloud had another 'wow' factor moment as the ferry gave us stunning views of the ship and The Shard as we docked onto the HMS Belfast, so we could board.


We were directed to Tor's Observation Lounge at the very front of the ship. Upon arrival, were handed glasses of champagne by white gloved waiters, who topped them up throughout the talk! I felt like some form of celebrity and I can only imagine the level of service you must get on one of Silver Cloud's voyages. I'll cover the talk on Expedition Cruising in a following post as there I learnt so much that I don't want to miss anything!

Well it would be rude not to!

Following the talk, we had the eagerly anticipated ship tour. It was a gloomy, wet day in London but I couldn't help being wowed by Silver Cloud's outside spaces. Her pool area was quite large considering she only holds around 300 passengers. Adjacent to the pool was the 'The Grill', which would be the perfect place to sit and have a meal or a few drinks.


Throughout the ship, the decor felt very art-deco and somehow felt traditional at the same time. There was no area which we visited that felt crowded and everywhere felt comforting. I had been concerned that luxury ships would make you feel that you were scared to touch anything, for fear of damaging it. Yet it felt very homely and I can imagine it being a welcome sight when you bored the ship after a day of exploring.

Going down - I loved the design of these stairs!

We also had the opportunity to visit several suite types. Silversea do not have cabins and when visiting their 'standard' grade suite I was amazed by the size of it!The walk-in wardrobe was almost as big as my room at university and the bathroom with shower felt akin to any 5* hotel on land. In the vast majority of suites they have their own private veranda, although some don't - I doubt this would be an issue considering that in some conditions in the Arctic/Antarctic it may be too cold to use!

A standard suite - click the arrows to see more pictures!


We also visited a 'Royal Suite'. This was situated right at the front of the ship and meant that you looked directly over the bow of the ship. This suite really impressed me as I love being as forward/aft as possible as these cabins have an additional sense of character and this cabin was no exception. Sloping windows revealed the bow of the ship, as did the balcony. I can only imagine what views you'd get when the ship was cruising! The dining area and bedrooms had large windows which let lots of natural light in, making the suite feel airy and spacious . The suite was amazing and I'd have loved to have stayed longer but lunch beckoned.

A Royal suite - click the arrows to see more pictures!


I've heard many good things about Siversea's standard of food and I certainly wasn't disappointed. Although we were only visitors, I felt like the waiters, and sommelier made lunch a spectacle rather than just a time for eating. It's hard to describe but it made you feel excited (if I wasn't excited enough already) to try the food.


We had a set menu with the following;

  • Appetizer : Tower of Marinated Crab meat

  • Entree : Roasted Beef Tenderloin / Char-grilled Fresh Swordfish

  • Dessert : Fresh Forest Berry Basket with a Marsala Wine Sabayon



This was honestly the best meal I have ever had, I had the medium rare beef and it took my breath away how good it was. I think at one point I went to my table mates 'Oh my gosh this is amazing'. I can see why Silversea has so many good reviews with regards to it's food, they really know how to do fine dining!


As we had a bit of free time after lunch, we were able to explore Silver Cloud's interiors at our own leisure. The amount of facilities packed into this small ship truly impressed me and they were by no means small. The Explorers Lounge, which is used for talks and presentations from leading experts was perfectly sized for the amount of passengers on board.

The Explorers Lounge!


When I'm on a ship, I love going to a bar after dinner for a few cocktails. Luckily for me, Silver Cloud is no exception! I had chance to visit the 'Dolce Vita' Bar which would be my perfect place to visit on an evening. It was nice to see that Siversea actively encouraged getting to know other passengers in settings like these as meeting new people is one of the things I love about cruising

'Living La Dolce Vita'


The ship even had it's own fitness center - although compact, it had the essentials and held classes including yoga and Pilates. The ship really had all the facilities you could ever want!


However like all good things, my ship visit came to an end. I was completely blown away with Silversea and the Silver Cloud, What stood out to me was the staff - I felt like they couldn't do enough for you. Although we boarded during change-over day, a very busy and hectic time for all crew. Every crew-member stopped, smiled and bid us a good afternoon. It really made me feel special and you can tell they are all deeply passionate about their roles which is lovely to see.


Although I wasn't able to explore all areas of the Silver Cloud, I hope it gives you a flavour of what the ship is like. Thank you so much Silversea and CLIA for arranging the visit, it was an amazing learning experience and I hope to visit one of their ships again in the near future. I hope you enjoyed reading this slightly different blog and that you're looking forward to hearing more about expedition cruising with Silversea in my next post!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page